Award » Bert Greene Awards

Bert Greene Awards

View the winners for the 2015 Bert Greene Awards here.

View the finalists for the 2015 Bert Greene Awards here.


| About | Categories | Winners | Judging  | Submission Guidelines | Entry Form | FAQ |


The Bert Greene Awards are given in 8 categories:
• Narrative Culinary Writing with or without recipes
• Instructional Culinary Writing with Recipes
• Culinary Writing about Beverages
• Culinary Writing That Makes a Difference (Environment, Health, Food Politics)
• Culinary Travel Writing
• Personal Essays/Memoir Writing
• Culinary-based Column
• Publication of the Year

The Bert Greene Awards program is open to IACP members and non-members.  Articles may be submitted if the articles have been published online or in a newspaper, newsletter, or magazine during the current calendar year.

Submission deadline is January 16, 2014

Please note: Culinary Blogs are now included in the Digital Media Awards.

The Bert Greene Awards were first presented in 1991 to honor excellence in food journalism. The awards were named after Bert Greene (1923-1988), a nationally renowned cooking teacher, cookbook author, and syndicated food columnist. Bert was President-Elect of IACP at the time of his death in 1988, and left a lasting legacy with IACP that includes the establishment of the IACP Cookbook Awards in 1986. Read more about Bert.

Each year, the Bert Greene Awards Committee revisits the awards program's policies and procedures to ensure their relevance in the fast-changing world of food journalism. As such, the Bert Greene Awards will be given in eight categories for 2014! Entries are judged against a detailed list of criteria unique to each category. This awards program is open to both IACP members and non-members.


More About Bert Greene

A man of many interests, Bert was a playwright and co-proprietor of The Store in Amagansett, one of America’s first “gourmet” takeout shops, prior to becoming an award-winning cookbook author and syndicated food columnist. Bert’s first book, The Store Cookbook: Recipes and Recollection from The Store in Amagansett, was published in 1974; he then went on to write seven other books, including The Grains CookbookGreene on Greens, and Honest American Fare. His food column appeared in six newspapers, including The New York Daily News. Known for his warmth and generosity, as well as his delicious wit and elegant edibles, Bert Greene was a gifted writer whose work masterfully intertwined real-life stories of friends, family, and rich and famous people with first-rate recipes. This legacy lives on in the awards that bear his name.

To enjoy Bert's work, check out Bert Greene’s Kitchen: A Book of Memories and Recipes, a selection of his newspaper articles. Or to learn even more, read IACP member Barbara Haber's account of his abiding love of vegetables and recipes.

Shani Phelan, Member Services and Operations Manager
Phone: (646) 358-4957; (866) 358-4951

| About | Categories | Winners | Judging  | Submission Guidelines | Entry Form | FAQ |

Share |