Looking for an answer to your Cookbook question? It’s here!

Q: What are the Cookbook Awards?

A: Since 1986, the IACP Cookbook Awards have honored the authors, publishers, and other contributors behind the best of cookbooks published each year. Awards are given in 16 categories. Cookbook of the Year and People’s Choice Awards are also given each year. Three optional awards may be given if qualified candidates emerge during the judging process.

Q: When is the submission deadline?

A: Entry forms and entry fees are due no later than February 15th, 2019. All books and supporting materials must be received at Publishers Storage and Shipping no later than February 22nd, 2019.

Q: Who can enter the awards?

Our awards are open to all. You do not need to be an IACP member to submit. No one from the IACP board or staff nor IACP freelancers or sponsors, nor their immediate families, can enter or vote on the awards, nor know who the finalists or winners are in advance, with the exception of the IACP awards liaison. The IACP awards liaison cannot enter or vote on the awards, but will know the finalists and winners in advance to ensure the proper announcement of the finalists and winners.

Q: Do sponsors of the awards participate in judging or in choosing awards outcomes?

No. Sponsors do not participate in the judging of awards and have no say in the outcome.

Q: When must a book have been published to be eligible for the 2019 Awards?

A:  It must have been published between November 25, 2017 and November 24, 2018. If you enter a 2017 copyrighted book, it must be accompanied by the IACP 2019 Copyright Affidavit Form to confirm that the book was not published/available prior to last year’s deadline.

Q: Do you accept books published outside the US?

A: Books from any country may be submitted as long as they meet all criteria and are written in English. If a book is submitted in another language, it can only be judged based on the English sections in the book.

Q: Do you accept books that are self-published?

A: Yes.

Q: Do you accept e-books?

A: At this time we only accept physical books, whether hard or soft cover.

Q: Do you accept revised editions?

A: Yes. If the entered book is a revised edition, the majority of the reissue must be new, and four (4) copies of the edition prior to the current revision must accompany the entry. Revised edition entries must also be accompanied by the IACP Revised Edition Affidavit Form to verify that more than 50% of the revised edition copy is new.

Q: Are bilingual books eligible?

A: Yes. Bilingual books are accepted if they meet all eligibility requirements, with the understanding that they are judged only on their English content.

Q: Are books in a boxed set eligible?

A: Boxed sets are judged as a single entry if the books are sold only as a set. If books are available individually, a separate entry form and fee must accompany each book entered in the awards program.

Q: How much does it cost to enter?

Early Bird- Nov. 1st to January 3rd, 2019
The entry fee is $150 (US) per title, per category entered

January 4th to February 15th, 2019
The entry fee is $200 (US) per title, per category entered

Q: Can I enter more than one book?

A: Yes, you can, as long as each book meets the eligibility criteria.

Q: Can I enter the same book into more than one category?

A: Yes, you may enter as many categories as you wish on the same entry form, but for each category entered, you must submit the entry fee and the required number of books (see below).

Q: How many books must I submit?

A: Four (4) copies of the book must be submitted for each category entered. If you are submitting a revised edition of a book, you must also submit four (4) copies of the edition previous to the one you are entering.

Q: What if I’m not sure about which category to enter?

A: If you have questions about awards suitability, you may contact  Paola Briseño González at paola@iacp.com. IACP retains the right to advise the publisher/author if a book is entered in an inappropriate category, and may recommend a more appropriate category or categories where the book may be more competitive. However, the final category selection is the responsibility of the publisher/author.

Q: Is a fee or additional paperwork required to enter the optional awards categories (i.e., Jane Grigson, Design, and/or Judge’s Choice Awards) or to qualify for Cookbook of the Year?

A: No. Entry into any awards category will make you automatically eligible for consideration for the optional awards. However, the Cookbook of the Year Award is restricted to category winners.

Q: When will finalists and winners be announced?

A: Finalists will be announced on April 11, 2019. Winners in each category will be announced at the Awards ceremony held in conjunction with the 2019 IACP Annual Conference in Santa Fe, NM.

Q: Can I attend the Awards Ceremony?

A: Yes! All entrants are encouraged to attend. The Awards ceremony is included in the price of conference registration. You may register for the Awards ceremony separately if you wish, although we encourage all entrants to take advantage of the full conference.


Submit Today