Q: What are the Culinary Classics Book Awards?
A: In 2011, IACP instituted the Culinary Classics Book Awards to honor culinary works that have had a lasting and indelible impact on how we eat, cook, and/or think about food.

Q: When is the submission deadline?
A: Entry forms must be received at IACP Headquarters by TBD.

Q: What kinds of books can be nominated?
A: Nominated books must have been published at least five years ago, but no earlier than 1945. Additionally, they must have both (1) significantly altered the way we think about food and (2) contributed in a meaningful way to the field of culinary literature. Books that are dedicated to any food-related subject; document or interpret a cuisine, culinary tradition, or history; or convey an important culinary sensibility or vision are eligible.

Q: Do I have to be an IACP member to nominate a book?
A: Yes.

Q: How much does it cost to enter?
A: There is no entry fee for the Culinary Classics Book Awards program.

Q: Can I nominate more than one book?
A: Yes. Just fill out a separate entry form for each book.

Q: How are winners chosen?
A: A distinguished panel of judges assembles a list of finalists each year, drawing on nominations made by IACP members. The panel reviews all nominations, including their own, against a list of predetermined criteria to select the winners. The number of winners is at the sole discretion of the panel, and may vary from year to year.

Q: When will winners be announced?
A: Winners will be announced at the Awards announcements held in conjunction with the Annual Conference, in February 2018.

Submit Today