Q: What are the Food Writing Awards?
A: The Food Writing Awards (formerly Bert Greene) for Food Journalism were first presented in 1991 to honor Bert Greene (1923-1988), a well-known food writer and IACP Board member. They are open to IACP members and non-members, and recognize excellence in food journalism in nine categories: Narrative Food Writing with or without Recipes; Narrative Beverage Writing with or without recipes; Instructional Writing on Food and Beverage with Recipes; Culinary Travel Writing, Personal Essay/Memoir Writing, Food-focused Column, Beverage focused column, The Culinary Trust Cause-based Food Writing Award; and Publication of the Year.

Q: When is the submission deadline?
A: The deadline for the Food Writing Awards is February 15, 2019.  Supporting materials must be uploaded when completing your entry form on or before this date.

Q: When must a submission have been published to be eligible for the 2019 Food Writing Awards?
A: Only works published in the current (2018) calendar year are eligible.

Q: Who can enter the awards?

Our awards are open to all. You do not need to be an IACP member to submit. No one from the IACP board or staff nor IACP freelancers or sponsors, nor their immediate families, can enter or vote on the awards, nor know who the finalists or winners are in advance, with the exception of the IACP awards liaison. The IACP awards liaison cannot enter or vote on the awards, but will know the finalists and winners in advance to ensure the proper announcement of the finalists and winners.

Q: Do sponsors of the awards participate in judging or in choosing awards outcomes? 

No. Sponsors do not participate in the judging of awards and have no say in the outcome.

Q: Do you accept works published outside the US?
A: Yes, as long as they meet all criteria.

Q: Are works published in a language other than English eligible?
A: Yes, but these entries must include copies of the English translation with the original work.

Q: Are submissions printed as a series eligible?
A: Submissions that were printed as a series in two or more issues of the same publication will be considered as one work and should be submitted as a single entry.

Q: How much does it cost to enter?
A: There is no charge for entries between November 1st and November 19th. Starting November 15th, the fee is $50 (US) per entry for IACP members; $75 (US) per entry for non-members.

Q: How many submissions am I allowed?
A: This year, we are allowing contestants to submit a single piece into as many categories as they wish.

Q: What if I’m not sure which awards category best fits my submission?
A: If you have questions about awards suitability, please email paola@iacp.com. IACP retains the right to advise the entrant if an article is submitted in an inappropriate category, and may recommend a more appropriate category or categories where the article may be more competitive. However, the final category selection is the responsibility of the entrant.

Q: When will finalists and winners be announced?
A: Finalists will be announced on April 11,2019. Winners in each category will be announced at the 2019 Annual Conference in Santa Fe, NM.

Q: Can I attend the Awards announcement?
A: Yes! All entrants are encouraged to attend.  The Awards event details will be listed in the IACP website and finalists will be notified though email with details so they can attend.

Submit Today