2017 IACP Award Winners Announced


The International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) unveiled the winners of its prestigious awards on Sunday March 5, 2017 at The Louisville Palace Theater in Louisville, KY. Click here to see a complete list of winners.

The awards ceremony concluded IACP’s 39th annual conference and were co-hosted by chef, restaurateur, cookbook author, and television personality Carla Hall and Joe Yonan, The Washington Post’s Food and Dining Editor. Award categories include Cookbooks (presented by Cuisinart), Digital Media, Food Photography & Styling, and Food Writing. The IACP awards program has been in place for more than three decades to recognize original creative work conducted by leaders in the global culinary field.

IACP award recipients are chosen through an intense judging process. This year’s winners include cookbook authors Vivian Howard (Cookbook of the Year, Presented by Cuisinart; Julia Child First Book, Presented by KitchenAid; General; and Chefs and Restaurants), Molly Yeh (Judge’s Choice), Cara Mangini (People’s Choice, Presented by Meredith) and popular print publications and websites such as The New York Times, Cooking Light, Epicurious, Lucky Peach and Fine Cooking.

Chef José Andrés received the 2017 IACP Lifetime Achievement award that recognizes a culinary professional who has made noteworthy and lasting contributions to the culinary industry and who has demonstrated a continuing commitment to the culinary arts as a lifetime career.

This year’s Trailblazer recipients include Wendell Berry, Kathy Cary, Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer, Edward Lee and Ronni Lundy. Trailblazer honorees are chosen for their passion and impact in the food community and acknowledge those individuals or institutions that have shaped the culinary scene in the city or region that hosts each IACP conference.

The Culinary Classics honor books that have been published at least five years ago, but no earlier than 1945, that have significantly altered the way we think about food and contributed to the field of culinary literature. The 2017 Culinary Classics recipients include Authentic Mexican by Rick Bayless, Jewish Cooking in America by Joan Nathan, The Cake Bible, by Rose Levy Beranbaum, How America Eats, by Clementine Paddleford, and Spoonbread and Strawberry Wine by Norma Jean and Carole Darden.

The 2017 conference assembled culinary thought leaders from the country to the eclectic food scene of Louisville, KY.  The 2018 40th annual IACP conference will take place in New York City February 23 – 25, 2018.

Winners were announced on Twitter by @iacpculinary, with the hashtag #IACPAwards.

Press Coverage:

The Washington Post



Grub Street

The News and Observer

New Worlder

The Forward

Gourmet Retailer

Penguin Random House

ProChef SmartBrief

Salisbury Post

Portland Press Herald

Omnivoracious, Amazon Book Review

Book Witty

TOPS Louisville

The Voice-Tribune


University of New England 

View all News