IACP Announces 2018 IACP Awards Winners

New York, NY (February 25, 2018) — The International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) unveiled the winners of its prestigious awards on Sunday February 25, 2018 at the Hilton Midtown in New York City.  The awards ceremony concluded IACP’s 40th annual conference and was hosted by hosted by Gail Simmons, Food & Wine’s Special Projects Director, judge on BRAVO’s Emmy-winning series Top Chef, and author of Bringing it Home: Favorite Recipes from a Life of Adventurous Eating and Joe Yonan, The Washington Post’s Food and Dining Editor. A complete list of award winners can be found at the end of this release, as well as on the IACP website here.

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, IACP’s awards program recognizes original creative work conducted by leaders in the global culinary communications field. Award categories include Cookbooks, Digital Media, Food Photography & Styling, and Food Writing.

Highlights of this year’s winners included:

Cookbook Awards:

The IACP Julia Child First Book Award, Presented by The Julia Child Foundation for Gastronomy and the Culinary Arts: Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking, Samin Nosrat, (Simon & Schuster)        

Cookbook of the Year, Presented by Cuisinart: Six Seasons: A New Way with Vegetables, Joshua McFadden with Martha Holmberg, (Artisan Books)

Wine, Beer & Spirits, Presented by Kendall-Jackson Champagne: The Essential Guide to the Wines, Producers, and Terroirs of the Iconic Region, Peter Liem, (Ten Speed Press)

The Cookbook People’s Choice, Presented by Meredith American Seafood: Heritage, Culture & Cookery from Sea to Shining Sea, Barton Seaver, (Sterling Epicure)                        

Digital Media Awards:

Single Food-Focused Video or Feature Film: James Beard: America’s First Foodie, Co-producer: Kathleen Squires, Producer/Director: Elizabeth Federici, Airs On: PBS

Podcast or Radio Show: Why We Eat What We Eat, Gimlet Creative & Blue Apron

Group Blog: A TIE BETWEEN Epicurious, Eric Gillin, David Tamarkin and the Editors of Epicurious AND New Worlder, Marie Elena Martinez and Nicholas Gill

Food Photography & Styling Awards:

The Food Photography & Styling People’s Choice Award: “Milk Splash,” Mary Valentin, December 2017

Food Writing Awards:

Publication of the Year (Circulation of 300,000 or Less): The Coastal Table, Karen J. Covey

Publication of the Year (Circulation of 300,000 or More), The Washington Post Food, Joe Yonan; Bonnie S. Benwick and Matt Brooks              

New this year, the Cookbook Awards, presented by Cuisinart, welcomed an exciting new collaboration with The Julia Child Foundation for Gastronomy and the Culinary Arts. The 2018 IACP Julia Child First Book Award is now accompanied by a $5,000 professional development grant provided by the Foundation.

This year’s Trailblazer recipients include Ariane Daguin, Florence Fabricant, Marion Nestle, Marcus Samuelsson, Jessamyn Rodriguez, and David Wondrich. Trailblazer honorees are chosen for their passion and impact in the food community and acknowledge those individuals or institutions that have shaped the culinary scene in the city or region that hosts each IACP conference.

The Culinary Classics honor books that have been published at least five years ago, but no earlier than 1945, that have significantly altered the way we think about food and contributed to the field of culinary literature. The 2018 Culinary Classics recipients include Bistro Cooking by Patricia Wells, The Dooky Chase Cookbook by Leah Chase, The Auberge of the Flowering Hearth by Roy Andries De Groot, The Key To Chinese Cooking by Irene Kuo, and The Splendid Table:  Recipes from Emilia-Romagna, the Heartland of Northern Italian Food by Lynne Rossetto Kasper.

IACP awards  are chosen through an intense judging process. Cookbook Award judges (48 in total) include editors, authors, journalists, and culinary educators who have not published a culinary book during the current awards year. Food Writing Award judges (24 in total) include journalists, educators, food columnists and editors that judge food writing, whether published online or in print. Digital Media Award judges (30 in total) include culinary producers & marketers, educators, and bloggers. Food Photography & Styling Awards judges (12 in total) include food photographers, stylists, educators and digital marketers.

The awards ceremony began with a reception and welcome toast from Kendall-Jackson and concluded with a party entitled, Women Rule the World, featuring a selection of hors d’oeuvres from an all women line-up including, Ariane Daguin, Maricel Presilla, Nicole Ponseca, Chef Maria Loi, Kate Hill, and Judy Witts Francini.

The 2018 conference assembled culinary thought leaders from around the world for three days in New York City;  the 2018 41st annual IACP conference will take place in Sante Fe, New Mexico, May 10-12, 2019.

Winners were announced on Twitter by @iacpculinary with the hashtag #IACPAwards.

WebsiteTwitter  | InstagramFacebook

About IACP

Founded in 1978, IACP connects culinary professionals with the people, places, and knowledge they need to succeed. IACP boasts members from more than two dozen countries and serves as the leading forum for professionals involved in communication around the food industry. The only culinary organization of its kind, IACP is a crossroads where everyone can meet to share experiences and expertise, in ways that lead to unparalleled growth and learning.

Media Contact:
Helen Baldus

View all News